How to become a licensed Medicare agent in Arizona

(2) Comments

How to become a licensed Medicare agent in Arizona

What you need to know to get started

Should you decide to move forward with what will hopefully be the beginning of a long and fulfilling career, there are a few steps you will have to take to get your license in Arizona.

Medicare Insuranceaz

First and foremost, to become a licensed Medicare agent in Arizona, you will need to submit fingerprints to the Arizona Department of Insurance (AZDOI) for a criminal background check. If you have a criminal record, the ability to become a licensed insurance agent in Arizona will depend on the specific circumstances of your criminal history. In general, the AZDOI will review your application and consider factors such as the nature of the crime, the length of time since the crime was committed, and any evidence of rehabilitation or good conduct. If you have concerns about your eligibility to become a licensed insurance agent in Arizona due to a criminal record, you should contact the Arizona Department of Insurance directly for guidance.

Getting your license in Arizona

Second, you must complete a state-approved pre-licensing course that covers the basics of Medicare and Arizona insurance laws. Once you complete the course, you must pass the Arizona Medicare Supplement and Long-Term Care Insurance Agent Examination, which is administered by Prometric, with a score of at least 70%.

Should you pass (congratulations!), you must then submit a completed application to AZDOI. The application will include your fingerprints, proof of pre-licensing education, and a fee (usually around $120).

You can either apply online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) or you can submit a paper application (NAIC uniform license application for an Individual). NIPR online applications are generally processed more quickly than applications submitted on paper.

Continuing education is required in Arizona

Now that you’re a licensed insurance agent in Arizona, you must complete 48 hours of Arizona-approved insurance continuing education during the license term, which must include at least six hours of ethics training unless you are exempt from the insurance continuing education requirement. Your license term typically expires within four years, which should be plenty of time to complete your 48 hours of continuing education.

You are only exempt from Arizona’s insurance continuing education requirement if you have been continuously licensed in Arizona as an insurance agent, broker or producer since January 1, 1995, have not held a non-resident insurance producer license in another state at any time since January 1, 1995, and have never been the subject of an order of the director of insurance for a violation of Arizona insurance laws that resulted in your license being suspended.

It’s important to note that the requirements may change over time and it’s always a good idea to check the official website of Arizona Department of Insurance (AZDOI) to stay updated with current requirements.

Other types of insurance licensing are available

It should be noted that you cannot sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance unless you are licensed as an accident and health or sickness insurance producer and you complete eight hours of Arizona-approved long-term care training.

IPA would love to help you with your career

Our agents provide a very valuable service to the Medicare beneficiaries they serve. If you have a passion for helping others succeed, this may be one of the best jobs you will ever have. Our goal is to help others succeed in their health care choices. If you have integrity, will commit to 100% compliance, and want to enjoy the potential for great residual income, then we invite you to join the IPA team today!

We’re here to help! Call us today.

Share your thoughts

Leave your comments